UETN Governing Board Announces Retirement of Chair Dr. Robert Wagner

(SALT LAKE CITY) - Dr. Robert Wagner, Chair of the Utah Education and Telehealth Network (UETN) Governing Board resigned from his position as of January 26, 2024, closing out a tenure marked by steady and thoughtful leadership.

“Dr. Wagner has played an instrumental role in leading the UETN Board through transformational times,” said Dr. Patty Norman, Interim Chair for the UETN Board. “Some of the most noticeable contributions being leading the organization through a 360 evaluation of internal and external services and goals, refreshing and revising the board bylaws in order to reflect the current times and needs of the organization, while also leading conversation surrounding equitable access and opportunity for all.”

In addition to Wagner’s dedicated leadership on the UETN Board, he has made significant contributions to education and technology innovation in Utah as Vice President of Academic and Instructional Services at Utah State University.

“A great leader can help set the purpose for an organization that is relevant to the present and future users,” said Dr. Stephen Hess, Chief Information Officer at the University of Utah. “During his time as chair of the Board of UETN, he has provided steady and thoughtful leadership in bringing the Board together to provide purpose and vision for UETN.”

Wagner served on the UETN Board as a representative for higher education from 2012, assuming the role of Chair in 2020. Eric Hawley, Chief Information Officer at Utah State University (USU) and Faculty at the Huntsman School of Business, has been appointed by the Utah System of Higher Education Interim Commissioner, Geoffrey Landward, to fill the vacant higher education seat. An election is scheduled for June to choose a new Chair.
The UETN Board expresses deep gratitude and appreciation to Dr. Robert Wagner for all his contributions that have shaped UETN's future as a leader in education and telehealth services. Though he will be greatly missed, we wish him the very best on his new adventure as President of Idaho State University.

Return to home page