Skip Navigation


Time Frame

1 class periods of 70 minutes each




This lesson discusses the stages of grieving and reactions to death. This is part of the Crisis Management Unit (CM).


"Terms Associated with Death" and "Obituary/Eulogy" are part of the Curriculum Guide. *Note: The Rape Myths key (from the Sexual Violations lesson) is part of the presentation.

Background for Teachers

The textbook used is, "Strengthening Family and Self" published by Goodheart-Willcox.

Intended Learning Outcomes

Explain the grieving process and interpret ways to develop a positive adjustment to loss. STAGES OF GRIEF: stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance; common physical reactions to grief: a lack of appetite, numbness, an inability to sleep, etc.; the stages of grief apply to a loss of any kind; the feelings associated with the stages of grief are normal. WAYS OF DEALING WITH DEATH OR OTHER LOSS: today, death is generally more removed from daily living and discussions.

Instructional Procedures

Journal, Text, Rape Myths (review), Reactions to Death, Mourning, Video clips: My Life and Step Mom, and Internet quiz and unit review.

Assessment Plan


    Go to the UEN lesson plans folder and click on the lesson topic. This quiz might include questions that do not apply to the subject (they were from my concurrent enrollment textbook reading). You'll need to delete these questions.

Created: 07/10/2003
Updated: 02/03/2018