What's On UEN-TV

 

Sit and Be Fit

SIT AND BE FIT is a popular exercise series designed to make exercise fun, easy and safe for people of all ages. Programs focus on therapeutic exercises that make everyday activities easier to perform; including core strengthening, balance work, stretching and relaxation. Host, Mary Ann Wilson, RN designs programs with physical therapists, using creative choreography and a diverse selection of music. Her warmth and encouragement effectively reaches out to people of all fitness levels and ages. She is especially loved by older adult viewers, children, and those managing chronic conditions and physical limitations.

Sit and Be Fit  
  • Posture and Breathing
    Wednesday, June 20
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Posture is essential to any good workout. In this program Mary Ann demonstrates how to maintain good posture while exercising.
  • Facial Exercises
    Friday, June 22
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Facial exercises are important because they increase sensory awareness in mouth and encourage facial expression. These exercises are essential for anyone experiencing neurological challenges.
  • We've Gone Country
    Monday, June 25
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Country music sets the tone and pace for this fun full body workout.
  • Don't Forget Your Fingers
    Wednesday, June 27
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Paying special attention to the finger joints is important in our quest to stay independent and keep our hands functioning well.
  • Vestibular System
    Friday, June 29
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann challenges your vestibular system with a fun ball routine and other functional movements set to jazz music.
  • Breathing
    Monday, July 2
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    By toning and stretching muscles around the ribcage and practicing good breathing technique viewers learn how to get the most out of each breath.
  • Stretching
    Wednesday, July 4
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Strengthening should always be followed by stretching as an important component to any workout. This episode includes some great stretching exercises to improve flexibility.
  • Relaxation
    Friday, July 6
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann explores the healing touch of massage, demonstrating some effective ways to release tension and use movement to relax.
  • Maintain Independence
    Monday, July 9
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This episode is full of functional movements to help improve performance of the activities of daily life and help you maintain independence as you age.
  • Resistance Exercises
    Wednesday, July 11
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann introduces some unique ways to strengthen muscles with a resistance exercise band. Emphasis is placed on maintaining proper technique to avoid injury and get the most out of the movements.
  • Feel Your Best
    Friday, July 13
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann introduces some unique ways to strengthen muscles with a resistance exercise band. Emphasis is placed on maintaining proper technique to avoid injury and get the most out of the movements.
  • Fundamental Moves:
    Monday, July 16
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    In this episode Mary Ann mixes the good old standards with new moves for a fun and effective full body workout.
  • Kinesthetic Awareness
    Wednesday, July 18
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This Sit and Be Fit episode focuses on the importance of kinesthetic awareness and weight shifting as they relate to balance.
  • Static Balance
    Friday, July 20
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Weights are incorporated into the standing exercises to challenge static balance.
  • Pelvic & Ribcage Mobility
    Monday, July 23
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Pelvic and ribcage mobility exercises take center stage in this fun full-body workout.
  • Strong Back Strong Core
    Wednesday, July 25
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann combines a variety of exercises to emphasize the importance of strong core muscles and their role in maintaining back health.
  • Neuromuscular Coordination
    Friday, July 27
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    In this episode, Mary Ann uses heel tapping, patting, clapping and changing of rhythm patterns which contribute to improving neuromuscular coordination.
  • Release Tension Through Exercise
    Monday, July 30
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This fast-paced workout ends with a peaceful relaxation, leading viewers from a state of invigoration to a place of complete tranquility.
  • Strengthening Muscles & Joints
    Wednesday, August 1
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This program is devoted to strengthening muscles to stabilize our joints and preserve muscle mass.
  • A Healthy Back
    Friday, August 3
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann focuses on the importance of maintaining a healthy back with exercises that involve back flexibility, strengthening and stretching.
  • Better Balance
    Monday, August 6
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Good balance begins with proper spinal alignment, strong core muscles and bringing awareness to our center of gravity while weight shifting.
  • Improve Your Mood
    Wednesday, August 8
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    In this episode Mary Ann uses tactile stimulation to increase circulation and elicit a relaxed state of body and mind.
  • Lighthearted Exercises
    Friday, August 10
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann introduces a variety of new exercises for fingers, gait and back strengthening in this fun, light-hearted episode.
  • Back and Abdominal Strengthening
    Monday, August 13
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This episode focuses on stretching and strengthening the abdominal and back muscles to protect the spine and help avoid injury.
  • Exercising with Accessories
    Wednesday, August 15
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann introduces a variety of unique exercises incorporating a large ball during the warm up and a small ball for finger flexibility and strengthening.
  • Somatosensory Work
    Friday, August 17
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    We rely on our somatosensory system for good balance and everyday functioning. Mary Ann helps viewers turn their awareness inward to work this system.
  • Releasing Muscle Tightness
    Monday, August 20
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann uses a small ball, a towel and large ball to release some of the restrictions that build up in the connective tissue that runs throughout the body.
  • Myofacial Relief & Gait
    Wednesday, August 22
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann uses the large ball in this workout to loosen up the fascia around the scapula. Later in the program she focuses on exercises to improve gait.
  • Keep The Fun In Functional Fitness
    Friday, August 24
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    In this episode Mary Ann focuses on the fun side of exercise through the use of novelty music and imaginative choreography.
  • Variety, The Spice of Life
    Monday, August 27
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann combines a variety of exercises that improve function including a new exercise that uses the fingers and breath to control abdominal muscles.
  • Finger Dexterity
    Wednesday, August 29
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This episode combines fun music of the Charleston and Cha-cha to demonstrate finger exercises using a pencil, sit to stand exercises and vestibular work.
  • Happy Feet, Healthy Body
    Friday, August 31
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann stresses the importance of foot health. Using a small ball she shares foot exercises and massage techniques to improve circulation, range of motion and strength in the foot.

 

Load All

  • Pelvic Floor
    Monday, June 18
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Muscles of pelvic floor are often ignored but this workout shows some easy movements to keep those important muscles strong.
  • March Your Way to Fitness
    Friday, June 15
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann marches her way to fitness with fun routines and patriotic music.
  • Balance
    Wednesday, June 13
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Improving balance through weight training, stretching and leg strengthening is the theme of this episode.
  • Reaction Time
    Monday, June 11
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann shows how to use a ball to test your reaction time.
  • Strength Coordination
    Friday, June 8
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    This episode features a potpourri of movements to enhance strength and coordination.
  • Exercise Is Fun
    Wednesday, June 6
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann focuses on fun and functional exercises set to some of her favorite music.
  • Healthy Aging
    Monday, June 4
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    A variety of unique exercises are introduced which are all designed to promote healthy aging.
  • Core Strengthening
    Friday, June 1
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    Mary Ann uses hand weights and a ball to strengthen the abdominal muscles. Gretchen adds some exercises to challenge the brain.
  • Wednesday, May 30
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Monday, May 28
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Friday, May 25
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Wednesday, May 23
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Monday, May 21
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Friday, May 18
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Wednesday, May 16
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Monday, May 14
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Friday, May 11
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Wednesday, May 9
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Exercising with Small and Large Balls
    Monday, May 7
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Visualization Exercises
    Friday, May 4
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.
  • Back Exercises
    Wednesday, May 2
    8:30 am on UEN-TV 9.1
    No description available.