UEN Professional Development classes are designed for educators. All classes include instruction on using technology for effective teaching and learning strategies. Participants are expected to have some background in teaching and learning and classes require the development of education-related projects. In order to participate in UEN courses, participants must be residents of the state of Utah. UEN honors the Military Spouse Residency Relief Act (Public Law 111-97).
There are many benefits to taking a course from UEN. Many teachers take courses in order to obtain an Educational Technology Endorsement, earn relicensing points, lane change credit, improve understanding of technology for educational use, or refresh classroom practice with new ideas and fun activities.
All courses are free. If participants choose to complete Southern Utah University credit, there is a per credit recording fee directly to SUU after completing all the course requirements. General professional development courses (EDPD) are $21 per credit and endorsement courses (EDUC) are $23 per credit. Credit transcription through USBE has no cost.
COURSE SCHEDULE AND REGISTRATION
Most classes are repeated several times a year. The course catalog and registration is available at uen.org/register. New course schedules are posted on August 1 for the winter semester, December 1 for the spring semester, and April 1 for the summer semester. Once registered, all courses will be available in Canvas on the course start date.
Participants are encouraged to not register for more courses than they are able to successfully complete. Due to the rigorous nature of our courses, it is important to limit an individual’s participation not only to maximize success but also to allow the opportunity for as many others to participate as possible.
Participants should expect to commit the following amount of time to each course:
- 1 credit courses = 3-4 hours per week for 6 weeks
- 3 credit courses = 4-5 hours per week for 12 weeks
UEN Professional Development provides USBE or SUU credit opportunities as documentation of course completion. Participants must complete all coursework in order to receive credit. Credit will not be given for partial coursework, attendance, or participation.
Once a credit is transcribed, UEN cannot change credit from USBE to SUU or vice versa. It is the responsibility of each participant to verify that credit appears appropriately in the USBE MIDAS Education system or in their Southern Utah University transcript. Any issues must be reported to email@example.com immediately for timely resolution. Issues reported to UEN after one year of course completion may not be eligible for credit.
Utah State Board of Education (USBE) Credit
People who are good candidates for USBE credit: Teachers who plan to stay in the state of Utah, teachers seeking the courses purely to maintain a license, and individuals who want a simple free way to record their credit.
- Used only in the state of Utah
- Recorded in MIDAS
- No cost
- 1 credit = 15 re-licensure points
Southern Utah University (SUU) Credit
People who are good candidates for SUU credit: Teachers who know they may move out of state, teachers who may be able to apply the course to a master’s program, individuals without a cactus id, or individuals who need college-level credit for another reason. District lane changes might require college credit. This varies in each district and you will need to contact your district administration.
- Can be taken with you if you move out of state
- All classes are 5000 level credit.
- It may be able to be applied towards a masters degree
- Requires a transcription fee paid to SUU
- EDPD Course - $21 per credit
- EDUC Course - $23 per credit
- Requires submission of the SUU Credit Registration Form within 60 days of course completion.
- Recorded on an official college transcript with SUU. It will NOT be in MIDAS.
- 1 credit = 18 re-licensure points.